The present day Surrey Downs League started from very humble beginnings when just seven cricket clubs from the Surrey/Sussex border area met on May 29th 1975 in the Red Lion in Ockley.

Having reported back to their respective clubs a further meeting was call for 12th June when five clubs were prepared to commit themselves to the formation of a League. The other two wanted to see what rules were proposed before making any decision.

A draft Constitution and Rules were drawn up and presented at a further meeting a month later held in the pavilion of Ewhurst Cricket Club. So in just ten weeks the League was formed under the name of Arun Valley. The founder members being Barns Green, Blackheath, Ewhurst, Ockley, North Holmwood, Roffey, Rudgwick and Westcott. Three of the Surrey Clubs are still members to-day.

The League started in 1976 with just nine clubs, Shere having applied to join. The initial winners of this first season were Westcott. A second division was introduced in 1978.

Billingshurst joined in 1978, Sunallon in 1979, Horsley in 1987, and Cranleigh St. Andrews four years later.

The end of 1995 brought about a major change when all the Sussex clubs resigned to join Leagues in their own County.

Replacement clubs were sought and admitted to the League, and 1996 started with twelve Surrey clubs.

To reflect the area in which the present League covers, approximately a 12 mile radius of Dorking, the name of the League was changed to Surrey Downs in 1997.

Since then the League has continued to grow, and the 2008 Season starts with 22 clubs, the present members being Albury, Brockham Green, Capel, Claygate, East Horsley, Headley Old Freemens, Holmbury St. Mary, Horsley & Send,  Netherne, Newdigate, North Holmwood, Nutfield, Ockham, Ockley, Old Woking, Salfords, South Nutfield, South Park Manor, Shere, Tadworth, Westcott, and Woldingham Village.

Sponsorship was first obtained in 1978, and the present sponsors, Tiflex, in 2006.

The basis of the League is Surrey Villages playing mostly on village greens all within easy travelling distance.

In 2006 a decision was made to split the League into 4 Divisions, each with 10 clubs playing on a home and away basis, with two up and two down at the end of each season.

Not only did this make for much more even games but enabled the League to accept Clubs fielding only one eleven.

Colts cricket is encouraged by several member Clubs, with coaching, and fielding elevens in Colts Leagues in various age groups.

Three Clubs have achieved Club Mark accreditation, with several more well on the way. (2011 – Seven Clubs of twenty two member cubs)

  • 2011 League History once again – Newdigate Cricket Club field a 3rd XI in the Surrey Downs League Division 4
  • 2013 – Oakwood Hill Cricket Club will join us for the 2013 season
  • 2014 – Old Suttonians Cricket Club & Wonersh Cricket Club join us for the 2014 season
  • 2015 – Burgh Heath Cricket Club join for the 2015 season.
  • 2016 – Only 3 Divisions – Division 1 – Division 2 and Division 3
  • 2017 : Beddington Village join us for the 2017 season
  • 2018 : Cranleigh Cricket Club (3), Sutton Cricket Club (4)
    2018 : Three Divisions remain
  • 2019 : The Surrey Downs League Return to four Divisions –¬†Division 1, Division 2, Division 3 & Division 4
  • 2019 : Leatherhead Cricket Club (3)


this page was last reviewed and updated 21 November 2018 with some content courtesy of our former Chairman Mr Jack Ball